Computer Build on Intel Skylake Platform

My latest creation is in hardware.  First water cooled machine stable to 20% over clocking!  Spent quite a bit to upgrade my monitor to UHD, new DDR4 memory, and a PCIe SSD to deliver a visually superb picture with fast loading and processing to augment the newly released Skylake processor from Intel.  Decided on an “A” but not “A+” single graphics card, as the performance versus price did not seem to warrant the price increase.  Very happy with this rig, full specifications below:

CPU: Intel Core i7-6700 @ OC 4.80 GHz HD530
MB: msi Z170A Gaming Pro Socket 1151
Cooler: Raijintek Triton Liquid Cooler
RAM: 16GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR4-3000 PC4-24000
SC: Sound Blaster Z w/Logictech 5.1 Surround Speakers
SSD: Hyperx Predator M.2 PCIe G2 x4 240GB 1400MB/s Read 600MB/s Write
HDD: 2 x Western Digital Black 1TB (1.8GB Raid 0)
CASE: NZXT H440
PS: EVGA 750 G2
GC: 1 x msi GeForce GTX970 4GB GDDR5@7010MHz 1664CUDA Cores
MON: Samsung UD590 3840×2160 UHD 28″
OS: Windows 10 64bit

The only issues I had is that the case is a front drive-less type, so I have no DVD to install drivers and software from.  I used a USB stick to download installations from the web and install on this rig.  Outside of that there were no conflicts or issues and everything worked together right out of the box.  Windows 10 recognized hardware and operates without issue.  Now, time to install my programming libraries and get back to my hobby of coding games.  Basketball season is about at an end and my time will free up to be more for myself.  Coding again soon!

If you build a system similar and want some help, comment and I would be glad to help out.

 

Leave a comment